Skip to content

NEW MUSIC: Julie Dexter – ‘Broke Up About You’

28/09/2010

This is definitely some of the best news I’ve heard in recent weeks. I’ve always had a bit of a soft spot for Julie Dexter as she hails from the same city as me (Birmingham, UK), although now she has moved full-time to the US. I own all her previous albums/EPs and still play them regularly, so news of a new album had me excited. We’ll have to wait a bit longer to hear the album in full (I hope it includes the Zo!-produced ‘Transitions’), however here is the first single, ‘Broke Up About You’ to tide us over (you can purchase the track on Amazon UK/US now).

The song tells the often neglected story of the “other woman” as Julie goes on to explain:

I wanted to articulate what she goes through, the lack of compassion for her, the ridicule that she recieves, and how a relationship like that can come to fruition. We always wonder how the “other woman” comes to be.

Julie Dexter – ‘Broke Up About You’


One Comment leave one →
  1. Vivrant Thang permalink
    28/09/2010 3:33 pm

    I usually don’t get down with sideline ho anthems. LOL! But this works for me. Julie can really do no wrong though. Her voice is silky smooth on this one. Very much looking forward to her return.

Leave a Reply

