Skip to content

HEAD 2 HEAD: Bilal & Corinne Bailey Rae Take On Bob Marley’s ‘Is This Love’ [+ Download MP3s]

28/09/2010

Corinne Bailey Rae and Bilal are certainly two of the artists whose stars have shone brightly in 2010. Corinne came back strong with The Sea after many thought we would never hear from her again after the tragic death of her husband. Bilal came back fighting after his last release was shelved, and unleashed the genre-defying Airtight’s Revenge on the masses.

Whatever your opinion of their latest releases, there is no denying that both are extremely talented individuals. Coincidentally, both have released cover versions of the Bob Marley classic ‘Is This Love?’ in the last two weeks, so lets put them head to head and see who comes out on top. For me, and it pains me to say it as I love Bilal, Corinnes sultry, soulful version gets my nod, but I love both. Let me know your thoughts in the comments…

Corinne Bailey Rae – Is This Love?

Bilal – Is This Love?

DOWNLOAD

CBR Bilal

Thanks to Giant Step for the heads up and the CBR download link.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Vivrant Thang permalink
    28/09/2010 3:42 pm

    My bf, who is a reggae DJ, says Bilal took too many liberties with it. He likes CBR’s version though. But that’s what Bilal does. And he does it well. He dismantled the song and put it back together. Beautifully. The instrumentation on his version is sick.

    However, if I’m forced to choose, I would choose CBR’s version. It was love at first listen.

  2. 28/09/2010 8:12 pm

    I have to admit that Bilal’s cover didn’t do anything for me. But Corinne Bailey Rae’s version took me to another place altogether. She definitely gets my vote. Now they make me want to hear a Bob Marley cover album from all new school soul artists. That would be the business.

  3. 28/09/2010 9:51 pm

    Yep..CBR for me…Bilal is at a different place right now…unfortunately i am not feeling it that much…good to have him back though!

  4. 29/09/2010 12:03 pm

    I loved the Bilal version, but yes CBR’s is my fave. Her voice is mesmerizing.

  5. 02/10/2010 2:14 am

    Admittedly, I fast forwarded Bilal’s version in order to get to something I liked. But hands down, Corinne’s sensual vocals got my vote.

  6. Meechie permalink
    18/02/2011 6:07 am

    I think everyone is entitled to their opinion, but my vote has to go to Bilal. My daughter let me his cover version of Bob Marley’s classic “Is This Love,” and I have to say I can’t stop listening to it. In one word – genius! I went back and I listened to the original and I just feel Bilal put a new but innovative twist fusing jazz, r&b, neo-soul, reggae, gospel – all these genres to make a masterpiece. Thank you for allowing music enthusiast like myself to download this song which is sure to become a classic.

  7. Sheswagg permalink
    22/03/2011 1:38 am

    Thanks so much for sharing this, it took me forever to find the download to this song… Bilal.. 🙂

Leave a Reply

