Skip to content

GET TO KNOW: Carvalho

25/08/2010

Although I curse twitter for consuming so much of my time, one of the main reasons I keep going back to it is that it is one of the best avenues for discovering new talent that would most probably have passed me by if I didn’t drop in hourly daily.

I had never heard of Carvalho until he sent me a tweet asking if he could send over a promo track. Always open to new music I hit him back with a ‘yes’ and in the process discovered that he is actually from the same city as me (Birmingham, UK).

He cites Bob Marley, Stevie Wonder and Meshell Ndegeocello as his influences so I was intrigued to press play on ‘Loving You’ and hear how, if at all, these influences shaped his sound.

Carvalho – Loving You

You can certainly hear a slight reggae influence in his vocals, along with a sprinkling of Stevie, however his sound is fresh and a welcome addition to the growing roster of talented UK soul singers. The song has that perfect summer groove which, even if we are lacking the weather to compliment it, should carry us well into Autumn.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 25/08/2010 12:10 pm

    Get to know 🙂 Album soon titled All the things you know to be true expect upliting Soulful vibes!

  2. 25/08/2010 5:47 pm

    😦 Just tried to listen but it’s telling me “File Not Found”. I just tried in IE, Firefox, and Chrome.

    I love your site!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

