Skip to content

‘Suddenly’ Adriana Evans Is Firmly On My Radar

04/03/2010

In the late 90’s and early 00’s neo-soul was the buzz word and there were a wealth of artists promoting themselves under this now overused banner. As I was just beginning to appreciate the talents of some of these artists I was a little overwhelmed by the numbers, and so I blindly picked my way through the Amazon recommendation lists following the trail of the ‘this person also bought’ tags.

This is how I discovered some of my favourite artists such as Anthony Hamilton, India.Arie, Rahsaan Patterson and Jaguar Wright (and later Ledisi) however this method proved to be far less than perfect and as is to be expected I missed some real gems along the way … it appears that Adriana Evans was one of those gems.

I’ve heard the name hundreds of times on different blogs, and I did check out 2007’s El Camino, but it didn’t really grab me and so it was on to the next on my ever-growing list. The buzz surrounding the release of Walking With The Night was a little underwhelming, but a recommendation from fellow blogger Soulafrodisiac convinced me to check it out, and for that I’ll be forever grateful.

The last few years have seen a bit of a shift in contemporary soul music, everyone seems to be looking for a new angle and wants to be different, ‘neo-soul’ has been replaced with ‘alternative soul’, and I’m all for this pushing of the boundaries, however sometimes all you want is some good, solid RnB/Soul music. Well thankfully this is Adriana’s forté, straightforward contemporary soul music, with just enough jazz and latin hints to keep things interesting.

Walking In The Night will remain in regular rotation in these parts for the forseeable future, and I’ll be making every effort to check out Adriana’s back catalogue, and revisiting El Camino soon. You can take a listen to 2 of my favourite tracks on the album below, but I’d recommend that you get the full album to really appreciate Ms Evans‘ talents.

Adriana Evans – Suddenly [snippet]

Adriana Evans – Let You Get Away [snippet]

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 04/03/2010 1:48 pm

    Glad you like it! I have it but haven’t listened yet. One thing though; have you heard her self titled debut!? It is one of the best albums of the 90’s in my opinion. I alsways check the blog, keep it going.

  2. 04/03/2010 3:10 pm

    I need to get her debut … many have said it’s her best work by far.

    It’s on my list!

Leave a Reply

