Skip to content

Interview: Kimberly Nichole … A Truly Independant Lady

10/11/2009

IndieFilesKimNicky

Hi there, first off I’d just like to say congratulations on a fantastic album.

The title of the album is The Yellow Brick Journey, can you tell us a bit more about why you chose this title?

The album title was inspired by one of my favorite movies “the Wiz”.  The album has many of the themes seem within that movie – it talks about love, confidence, courage – to pursue your dreams fearlessly, being smart about life decisions – basically the many themes/experiences of life.  I felt that title was befitting because it represents my journey in a sense.

Can you tell us a little about your background, and how you started out in music?

I grew up in my hometown Seattle, Washington singing in the church choir.  My mom is a singer and pianist and made sure my sister and I were involved in music as children.  My mom was a huge contributor in my love/passion for music and the arts.

You have shared the stage with some of the biggest names in soul, such as Eric Roberson, Bilal, Janelle Monaé and Algebra Blessett. How were those experiences and did you learn anything from these artists?


KimberlyNichole2009Those were all great experiences. I respect all of them for their creativity and individuality.

I would describe your album as predominantly ‘soul’ but with heavy rock and pop influences. How did this combination come about?

The album encompasses pieces of music that has been influential in my life.  I’m “technically” a soul singer – but the album is pop/rock/alternative – which can be contributed to my growing up in Seattle – and of course there rock/grunge/alternative is prevalent.

You have followed in the footsteps of a growing number of soul artists and released this project independently. Why did you decide to take this route?

I think independent is the way to go – you have so many resources out there via the internet that assist in an indie being successful.  Cd baby, iTunes, facebook, myspace are all online resources that allow an artist without the backing of a major label to be introduced to different people.

Do you see independent artists/labels as the way forward and would you sign to a major if the opportunity came about?

Yes, I do believe indie artist/labels are the way forward but I’m definitely open to being in a mutually beneficial partnership with a major if the opportunity presented itself.  Sometimes with the backing of a major your reach can expand further.

Being in the UK I haven’t seen you perform live, however I have seen videos of your performances. Two that particularly caught my attention were ‘Seven Nation Army’ and Gnarls Barley’s ‘Crazy’. Why did you choose these tracks in particular?

I so hope to be in your part of the world very soon.  Regarding The White Stripes and Gnarls Barkley –they are two of my favorite groups and those songs in particular I’ve come to love.  I try to put in my live performances songs that I both enjoy and may be familiar to the audience.

On the track ‘For The Looking Ones’ you use an auto-tune like effect. Auto tune has received a significant amount of bad press recently, particularly from those in the underground/independent soul scene, so why did you choose to use it here?

I wanted to do a song with an electronic/techno feel and my creative partner and I agreed on adding the auto tune.  I do things that feel right to me as an artist – not what is “accepted” by a particular group of people.  Actually, that song is many of my listeners’ favorite.

Can you tell us a little bit about the idea behind the track ‘Disconnected’?knpic

Disconnected was inspired by a moment in my life where I had disconnected myself from the outside world for love.  When that love was no longer there – I felt lonely and alienated -it speaks on the way I felt during that time.

The track ‘Little Girl New’ talks about coming out the other side of a difficult time in your life and remaining positive. Is this referring to any particular point in your life?

No, it doesn’t speak to any particular moment in my life – it speaks about many moments I have –past, present and future.  It’s my song of encouragement when I see myself becoming content and a bit lazy.

Now the album is out I’m guessing your busy performing and promoting. What do you have coming up over the next few months?

On November 13 –I’ll be in Tennessee at Sewanee – November 18 I’m performing in NY at SOB’s Sol Village hosted by Eric Roberson and in December I’ll be in Atlanta performing at a Christmas event.

Who would you say were your musical influences and are there any artists you would particularly like to work with in the future?

My major music/performance influences are Tina Turner, Josephine Baker, the Doors & Gnarls Barkley.  I would love to work with Cee-Lo in the future – I admire him a great deal.

Finally, the question I like to ask all artists. Which artists/albums are you listening to right now?

I’m currently listening to Little Dragon, Ryan Leslie and Maxwell.

Kimberly, many thanks for taking time out to answer these questions. I wish you the best of luck with the album.

Thank you so much for your support!

** You can check out my review of Kimberly’s album here**

One Comment leave one →
  1. 10/11/2009 5:22 pm

    She’s one of my bestfriends in the game & I adore her for life. Don’t sleep…Support KimberlyNichole. Her art is PURE!!

    Continue2Inspire…

    RAHBI

Leave a Reply

