Skip to content

Get To Know: Soulpersona (and his talented friends)

30/10/2009

soulpersona_album_coverAs a general rule, I am usually slightly wary of albums by producers that feature nearly as many different vocalists as it does songs. In a lot of cases the result is disjointed, confusing and difficult to listen to as a whole. Thankfully this is not the case with Soulpersona’s Soulacoaster.

In many ways this album reminds me of Eric Lau’s (masterpiece) New Territories. Rather than simply filling the album with beats and picking so-so vocalists to sing a hook on top, Soulpersona has chosen the vocalists carefully and has held back from over-producing the songs. The balance between production and letting the vocalist shine is just right.

I’ll admit I wasn’t familiar with many of the vocalists on this project. I have albums by Deborah Jordan and Darien, and i’ve heard a few tarcks by Replife but that is about it. However I will definitely be checking for each and every one of them from now on, especially Kia Bennett whose ‘So Natural’ is one of my favourite cuts on the album.

I’d have no hesitation in recommending this album to anyone who is a fan of soul, funk,  jazz or hip-hop. All elements are expertly combined and the result is an album you can put on repeat and happily listen to all day (I should know, I’ve done it!).

Head on over to Digisoul to grab your copy now, if you don’t then your going to have to live with the fact you have missed out on one of the standout albums of 2009.

So Natural ft Kia Bennett

Alright ft Replife & Princess Freesia

Can’t Hide ft Darien

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 31/10/2009 4:41 pm

    You already know how much I’m loving this. Every song is killer

  2. vivrant thang permalink
    23/11/2009 5:36 pm

    I couldn’t have said it better myself. It just flows effortlessly and makes you want to know more about each singer, who admittedly I knew little about beforehand. Deb and Darien were it.

    It does remind me of Eric Lau’s joint. Perfect comparison. So glad that you and Keyknow put me on. This is truly one of the standout albums of 2009.

Leave a Reply

