Skip to content

Get To Know: Kameela

16/10/2009

kameelaThis week has been a bit of a musical high point for me. I have stumbled across quite a few ‘new’ artists who are producing some great music.

Earlier in the week I featured UK singer Nadine Charles (more on her in next post) and now I’m pleased to share 3 tracks from singer/songwriter Kameela.

Kameela debut album, Changes: Volume 1, was released in 2007. and you can take a listen to 3 of the tracks below. I would describe her musical style as hiphop-soul, but leaning more towards Choklate than Mary J Blige. She possesses one of those voices I could listen to over and over again without ever tiring of it. My next step is to get my hands on the full project but until then i’ll keep hitting repeat. Take a listen and let me know what you think in the comments.

Kameela – Changes

Kameela – Stuck On You

Kameela – The One

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Kawana Costa permalink
    16/10/2009 3:16 pm

    Her voice is amazing! I love her sound and creativity. She definitely has potential to go very far. Her cd is available on cdbaby. The link is cdbaby.com/cd/kameela.

  2. Raushanah McNeill permalink
    16/10/2009 5:08 pm

    I have been listening to that powerhouse of a voice for the past 23 years and I must say I have ALWAYS been in awe and amazement!! How can someone so little produce something so BIG…her voice that is?? She is such a beautiful person and a HUGE inspiration especially to my 8 year old daughter, Mikaili. With all the popstar divas that are out now, like Beyonce’ and Hannah Montana, you would think that one of them would be her idol or inspiration, but amazingly its not…it’s her aunt Kameela!! She can sing you EVERY song on her aunt’s cd…but her favorite song on that cd is, “Playing my song”. My favorite is “Stuck on You”. LOVE IT and HER too!! 🙂

  3. Alisa Washington permalink
    16/10/2009 5:46 pm

    I love the sound and her voice. Finally,…getting back to music the way it should be, talking about something that matters. I’ll be looking for more of Kameela.

  4. Matthew permalink
    16/10/2009 9:25 pm

    Such a jazzy soulful sound! I can see her going far in the future. Look forward to the next one she puts out.

  5. Dare permalink
    19/10/2009 4:42 pm

    Kameela and her sound are AWESOME! I love it and love her beats! Kameela encompasses the sound of NeoSoul that I have grown accustomed to love so much. I have written iTunes to add this fine artist to their listing, so others can enjoy & discover her beautiful voice. Others will enjoy her and add her to their mp3 player just as I have. Keep “sanging” your songs girl cause you have a beautiful voice!

  6. Silena permalink
    21/10/2009 5:13 pm

    I love her voice and those songs are definately for the grown and sexy folks.

  7. C.Rice Peppers permalink
    10/11/2009 4:44 am

    Changes is an extraordinary piece of work. Kameela has a sound that she embellishes throughout the CD and it’s apparent in ” Stuck on You .” You have a simple rhythmic groove layered over a heavy percussive groove, followed by some airy background, topped off with some sharp lead vocals and you have one big sound. This is a technique utilized by masters, when you can achieve more with less.
    Extraordinary! Simply, extraordinary!
    YOU GO GIRL!!!! PEACE…..

Leave a Reply

