Skip to content

Get To Know: Nadine Charles

14/10/2009

nads3Sometimes I come across an artist or music that seems to  fill a void that I wasn’t even consciously aware was there in the first place. One such artists is Nadine Charles (and the music is her Introducing Nadine Charles EP).

The ‘void’ in question is great female R&B, without the gimmicks, vocal effects, pop-crossover elements that seem so prevalent in today’s R&B starlets. If I was forced to draw comparisons with other artists I would probably choose someone like Faith Evans, Brandy or Monica.

I have been aware of Nadine for some time and many of those ‘in the know’ have been singing her praises at every opportunity, so she was definitely on my radar.

A chance visit over to her blog informed me that she had attended the Atlanta International Soul Summit, and finished up her debut EP. The cheeky curious side of me decided to drop her an email to see if I could get my hands on the EP and see if everything I had heard was true …. it was!

The EP is 7 tracks long and it’s obvious that the tracks were chosen carefully. There is no ‘filler’ (I know it’s an EP but it does happen) and the songs flow well, unlike a lot of EPs/mixtapes that seem to be cobbled together and released with no thought at all about how the finished project will sound as a complete package.

You can check out snippets of two tracks from the EP below:

Nadine Charles – Special (snippet)

Nadine Charles – You Are The One (snippet)

At the moment the EP isn’t available to purchase, however copies will be for sale at gigs and you can also drop Nadine an email at nadinecharlesbiz@googlemail.com if you want to get your hands on a copy. In the video below the singer discusses her journey so far and talks about some of the artists that have influenced her.

LINKS: Nadine’s Blog, Twitter (@Nadiva99), Myspace

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 14/10/2009 11:47 am

    Oh wow, I like this artists sound.

    Some very nice songs right there, this is my kind of music.

  2. Benson Okhions permalink
    16/10/2009 2:57 pm

    Sort of music i will listen to while chilling with my chick, Showed her this video and she also loved your voice all the way. hope you get a record deal soon so we can listen to you in full. you are that little star shining from the corners of my eyes.

  3. 17/10/2009 4:30 pm

    Soul UK, you knocked it out the park with this artist. I love her voice, style everything. I got to get my hands on her EP for my radio show. She needs to be heard. Thank you my friend for another slam dunk!!!

  4. Mathieu permalink
    17/10/2009 6:33 pm

    It’s amazing how she looks like Sade, don’t you think?

  5. 19/10/2009 11:07 am

    @KeyKnow she is great. The UK are really churning out some amazing soul talent at the moment.

    @mathieu I can see the resemblance.

Trackbacks

  1. Get To Know: Kameela « Soul:UK
  2. Stuck In My Head: ‘Cheatin’ Never Sounded So Good « Soul:UK

Leave a Reply

