Skip to content

What’s New: Playing Catch Up

13/10/2009

A hectic few weeks have put me behind with my semi-regular blogging schedule. I’m sat on mountains of stuff but simply do not have the time to write about all of it. Therefore I have decided to do a bit of a round-up rather than posting on each individual release/song/artist.

Paloma Faith – Do You Want The Truth Or Something Beautiful

PF-DYWTTOSBSome are viewing Paloma Faith as the latest in the ever-growing line of soul-pop starlets to come out of the UK in recent years. Many have made the obvious (and in my opinion,  lazy) comparisons to Amy Winehouse, Duffy, Adele etc but after listening to Paloma’s debut it is clear that she is definitely her own artist. The songwriting, singing and production on the album are first class and there are too many highlights to list out here. Suffice to say that Do You Want The Truth … comes highly recommended, and if you need further convincing check out the AudioDiva’s review here.

N’dambi – Pink Elephant

NdambiPinkElephantOne of the most anticipated albums of 2009 has finally arrived, and opinion on it is pretty much unanimous … it’s classic N’dambi, and therefore is essential in any music lovers collection. Lead single ‘Can’t Hardly Wait’ had the interwebs buzzing, and the album continues where the single left off. The vocal powerhouse, now on the legendary Stax label, strikes an almost perfect balance between contemporary and classic soul that should please fans both old and new.

Zero 7 – Yeah Ghost

coverI’ll admit I am not all that familiar with Zero 7. I’ve heard of them on numerous occasions, but as is often the case I never quite got round to checking them out, that all changed with the release of their latest project Yeah Ghost. The reason that this particular album caught my attention was the bands collaboration (on 4 tracks) with UK vocalist Eska Mtungwazi (for those of you unfortunate enough not to know the name, click here and get yourself aquainted). The album has recieved mixed reviews, however I enjoyed it from start to finish, particulary the tracks ‘Medicine Man’, ‘Mr Mcgee’ and ‘The Road’ (all featuring Eska on vocal duties).

Meshell Ndegeocello – Devil’s Halo

MN-DHThis is Meshell’s 8th studio album and is being touted by many critics as one of the highlights of her career. I have a somewhat ‘mixed’ relationship with Meshell’s music. I loved Plantation Lullabies, Peace Beyond Passion and Bitter. Cookie and Comfort Woman were mixed bags in my opinion. Dance Of The Infidels and The World Has Made Me The Man Of My Dreams were not to my liking. For me Devil’s Halo falls somewhere in the middle. When she is on form the songs are great (see ‘Love You Down’) however there are a few songs, although not bad, just do not appeal to me.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 13/10/2009 4:56 pm

    I’ve been pretty excited for the ‘Pink Elephant’ album, the cover is what first attracted me to it. So colourful and eye-catching, but you just know that the content is going to be amazing.

Trackbacks

  1. Stuck In My Head: ‘Cheatin’ Never Sounded So Good « Soul:UK

Leave a Reply

