Skip to content

Under The Radar: Dojo Cuts, Smoove & Turrell and Flevans

18/09/2009

utr

It’s been a while since the last Under The Radar post. The reason is not lack of music, but rather lack of time to get the posts written …. here goes.

Dojo Cuts – Dojo Cuts feat. Roxie Ray (2009)

Dojo Cuts are the latest in a growing line-up of Australian soul/funk groups to combine crisp, tight, funky instrumentals with some killer vocals thrown in for good measure. Similar to existing bands, such as Cookin’ On 3 Burners and The Bamboos, Dojo Cuts take their inspiration from classic 60s/70s funk and combine it with modern funk elements to create timeless, classic, feel-good music.

Dojo Cuts feat. Roxie Ray – You Make Lovin Real Easy

Unlike the other groups I mentioned, Dojo Cuts have a full-time vocalist on board in the shape of Roxie Ray. Roxie posesses a ‘classic’ soulful voice, equal parts power and grit, that perfectly complements each of the 9 cuts on the album, especially their cover of Stevie Wonder’s ‘Uptight’.

Dojo Cuts feat. Roxie Ray – Uptight

So do Dojo Cuts have anything to offer that we havn’t already heard from aforementioned artists? Well, no. However what does make them stand apart in an ever-growing soul/funk scene is they do what they do extremely well!

LINKS: myspace, Amazon UK, Amazon US

Smoove & Turrell – Antique Soul (2009)

This album was recommended to me my fellow soul/funk afficionado Keyknow from Sounds Of Soul Radio. I had never before heard of the UK duo but as soon as I pressed play on lead single ‘I Can’t Give You Up’ I knew I had found a contender for my best of ’09 list.

Smoove & Turrell – I Can’t Give You Up

Smoove is an established producer/beat-maker and already has an album under his belt, however it wasn’t until he combined his talents with those of vocalist John Turrell that everything really came together. The duo combine elements of northern soul, funk and even a little hip-hop to create a 13 track album that truly does grab you from start to finish.

Smoove & Turrell – Beggarman

Highlights include the ‘I Can’t Give You Up’, ‘Difference’ and the perfect party soundtrack for these hard economic times, ‘Beggarman’.

LINKS: myspace, Amazon UK, Amazon US

Flevans – 27 Devils (2009)

Flevans is the latest in a long line of artists I have discovered via the Tru-Thoughts label. The multi-instrumentalist has a number of single/EP releases under his belt and an LP entitled Make New Friends, however it was his lates work, 27 Devils, that caught my attention.

Flevans – 27 Devils

Instrumental tracks usually fail to hold my interest for long, and 9 times out of 10 it is the vocal that initially attracts me to any given song, however after hearing the great ’27 Devils’ I decided to give the album a go. I’m very pleased I did, not only because all the instrumental tracks are fantastic, but also because there are 5 tracks on the album which include 2 very talented young ladies, Sarah Scott and Shona Foster.

Flevans feat. Sarah Scott – Hold On

After hearin 27 Devils in it’s entirity I decided to track down the rest of his work and I can honestly say I was not disappointed. Now i’m looking forward to the release of 28 Devils (27 Devils remixes) at the end of this year.

LINKS: myspace, Amazon UK, Amazon US

Leave a Reply

