Skip to content

QuickByte: Get To Know Maimouna Youssef

16/09/2009

my1

I first heard of Maimouna Youssef after listening to the first single off of The Roots Game Theory album, ‘Don’t Feel Right’. I was instantly attracted to her voice and she was filed away in my ever-growing ‘one to look out for’ list.

The Roots feat. Maimouna Youssef – Don’t Feel Right

Fast forward a couple of years and while browsing the blogosphere I came across a flyer for a show at US music venue SOBs. As i’m from the UK I usually don’t pay much attention, however I spotted a name that rang a bell and decided to dig a little deeper. Through the wonder that is Google I found Maimouna’s myspace page and a number of YouTube videos from a show she did late last year. Check out ‘Gypsy Woman’ below … I need this song in my collection!!

According to her myspace she is currently working on her debut album, and it looks like she is out there doing shows to raise her profile. If you are not familiar with her already make sure she added to your list … I predict she will be a rising star on the soul scene very soon.

Check out more videos, including a cover of Marvin Gaye’s ‘Got To Give It Up’ after the break.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Vivrant Thang permalink
    21/10/2009 3:12 am

    I am SO glad this ultra talented woman is finally getting her shine. I discovered her (late!) about two years ago when she did an acoustic set with Martin Luther. She blew.me.away! I have the DARK vids on my You Tube but no need to see. You could hear enough! I just pray the material she comes out with does justice to her amazing voice. I can’t take another Jasmine Sullivan-like disappointment.

    She recently did a set here with Zap Mama and Navasha Daya. I am such a FAIL for missing that!

  2. Diallo Sumbry permalink
    26/10/2009 8:02 pm

    Thank you for submitting this awesome blog about Maimouna. My name is Diallo Sumbry and I am on Maimouna’s management team here in the US. If you or anybody you know is interested in booking Maimouna in the UK, US or anywhere in the world, please fell free to give me a call at 202.286.2688 or email at daheart@gmail.com. Also, search Maimouna on Facebook and you can join her fan page there as well. Thank you for the love!

Leave a Reply

