Skip to content

LIVE MUSIC: Kylie Auldist & Cookin On 3 Burners

14/09/2009

kaco3b
Last Friday (Sept. 11th) I got chance to see 2 artists that have been in constant rotation on my iPod for the last couple of months. Both Kylie Auldist and Cookin On 3 Burners are from Australia so I was extremely excited when I recieved news from the folks over at Tru Thoughts that not only were they coming to the UK for a tour, but they were coming to my city and playing at a venue that I have never been to before.

We arrived at the venue way too early (I wanted to see how busy it was going to be), so decided to head off for a few drinks and get back in time for when the show kicked off. For reasons unknown there was a delay in the acts getting on stage, this normally irritates the hell out of me however the DJ kept things running smoothly and we were treated to an impromptu break dancing competition which kept the audience more than entertained.

When CO3B finally hit the stage the crowd were more than ready. The DJ’s had already eased everyone into a funk/soul groove and from the first note played on the hammond organ the band had everyone’s full attention. I can honestly say that CO3B are the tightest, funkiest, most soulful live band I have ever seen. Normally instrumental tracks do not hold my attention for long, but I found it impossible to turn my eyes/ears away from them.

After they had played a few tracks they called Kylie to the stage. She walked on looking relaxed and ready to give the crowd one hell of a show … and that she did. Many in attendance didn’t seem all that familiar with some of the material which usually results in a bit of a flat atmosphere, however Kylie’s stage presence combined with excellent backing from CO3B meant that everyone was so caught up in the performances the unfamiliarity of the material didn’t matter. She sang tracks from both her debut, Just Say, and her new album Made Of Stone, including several personal favourites such as ‘In A Week, In A Day’ and ‘Made Of Stone’. In my review of her latest offering I questioned the power of Kylie’s voice, well this performance put these questions to rest and made me realise that Kylie is not lacking in ANY department when it comes to performing. She belted out track after track yet made it all seem so effortless. Her gritty, soulful voice completely filled the relatively small venue and I can’t remember hearing a single dropped note or mistake, in fact I would say that live she sounded better than than any recorded track. I just wish that there were more dates so I could go and catch them again before they head home.

I did attempt to take some video footage so I could back up these claims, however poor lighting combined with a low battery meant that it wasn’t to be so you will just have to take my word for it 😉

Tomorrow is the last UK show before they head off to Europe for their final few dates. If you didn’t get chance to catch them do not despair, keep your eyes and ears peeled for more information on future dates and in the meantime purchase their albums and prepare yourselves to be thouroughly impressed!

Albums:

Kylie Auldist – Just Say (2008)

Kylie Auldist – Made Of Stone (2009)

Cookin On 3 Burners – Baked, Broiled and Fried (2007)

Cookin On 3 Burners – Soul Messin’ (2009)

One Comment leave one →
  1. Vivrant Thang permalink
    21/10/2009 3:07 am

    *shaking my finger at you* Shame! Shame! So your next order of business is to invest in multiple camera batteries and extra SD cards…and a good camera. And get your companion You Tube channel going. Live performances from the UK FTW! LOL!

    I’m so glad you’re getting to some live shows.

Leave a Reply

