Skip to content

Preview: Laura Vane & The Vipertones

14/08/2009

Laura_Vane_and_the_Vipertones_b

August is lining up to be one hell of a musical month. We have releases from heavyweights Ledisi (18th) and Eric Roberson (25th) and now it has come to my attention that UK funk/soul outfit Laura Vane & The Vipertones are set to release their self-titled debut on the 24th.

Laura Vane came to my attention a while back with the track ‘Crash & Burn’ (which I recently featured on my True Soul Sistas compilation), I loved the song and so kept an eye out for any information relating to her or her music.

A few months ago I came across the track ‘Steam’ which, although different from ‘Crash & Burn’, made me take notice, and then to top it off came the release of ‘Am I Dreaming’ a quality soul/funk track in a similar vein to Kylie Auldist/Bamboos collaborations.

Laura Vane & The Vipertones – Am I Dreaming

There is SO MUCH quality music coming out of the UK right now and Laura Vane & The Vipertones are right up there with the best of them.

Also check out a live recording of ‘Steam’ below:

More Info:

Official Site

Myspace

Twitter: @lauravane and @lvandvipertones

____________________

6 Comments leave one →
  1. norman permalink
    18/08/2009 11:49 am

    Nice old-style jam and nicely sung, but is that not a remake? I seem to know this song from back in the day.

  2. 18/08/2009 12:19 pm

    As far as i’m aware it isn’t a cover. No mention in any of the info. I have found on them.

    If you do manage to find that it is a remake (and you happen to remember who the original is by) please let me know.

  3. 24/08/2009 10:53 am

    The Steam track has been around for a while and has been played by Craig Charles a bunch of times since before its release on 7″. Full album should be out round about now!

  4. 24/08/2009 11:09 am

    Yeah the UK release is Aug 31st as far as i’m aware. Loking forward to hearing the full disc.

  5. 11/09/2009 4:17 pm

    Haha, well let me make it clear: it’s definately an original. I know cause i wrote the song, laura wrote the lyrics.

  6. 11/09/2009 4:19 pm

    LOL i thought as much. Great song šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

