Skip to content

Preview: Tru Thoughts Covers



UK label Tru Thoughts, home to artists such as The Bamboos, Quantic/Quantic Soul Orchestra, Kinny, Lizzy Parks, Belleruche, Kylie Auldist and Nostalgia 77, are gearing up to release their latest compilation entitled Tru Thoughts Covers.

The label describes the album as:

a mighty selection of the most pivotal and interesting cover versions to have peppered Tru Thoughts’ ten year history of releases

What is even more interesting than the list of contributers to the album is the list of artists they have chosen to cover. Popular songs by everyone from Marvin Gaye and Michael Jackson, to the White Stripes and Kings Of Leon, and even Eminem and Frank Sinatra, are given a soul/jazz/funk makeover Tru Thoughts-style.

Check out two of the tracks below as well as the full tracklisting. The album is due for release on 7th September.

Nostalgia 77 & Alice Russell – Seven Nation Army (White Stripes)

Woon – You’re Not Alone (Olive)


01. Nostalgia 77 feat. Alice Russell – Seven Nation Army.
02. Quantic & His Combo Bárbaro – Wandering Star.
03. Hot 8 Brass Band – Sexual Healing (Re-Edit).
04. The Quantic Soul Orchestra – Hold It Down.
05. The Bamboos – Happy
06. The Quantic Soul Orchestra – Get A Move On (Alternative Mix).
07. Lizzy Parks – It Was A Very Good Year
08. The Bamboos – King Of The Rodeo.
09. TM Juke & The Jack Baker Trio – Put Your Hands Up For Detroit.
10. J.Viewz feat. Noa Lembersky – Smooth Criminal (Bugz in the Attic Vocal Mix).
11. Jumbonics – Last Nite.
12. Aldo Vanucci presents Amie J – Naïve.
13. Nostalgia 77 featuring The Fiction Trio – My Name is…
14. Me&You – Brown Paper Bag
15. Bonobo – Super 8.
16. Kylie Auldist – Everybody Here Wants You
17. Woon – You’re Not Alone.


3 Comments leave one →
  1. 14/07/2009 6:08 pm

    Woon? Is that Jamie Woon by any chance? He has a great voice.

  2. 15/07/2009 9:47 am

    Honestly i’m not sure, will check it out though. There are a few artists on here im not familiar with … need to check them out though, everything i’ve heard from Tru Thoughts so far is great.

  3. 15/07/2009 3:31 pm

    Of course I’m having trouble hearing the two tracks posted. Work computer X-(

    But this definitely looks like a great compilation. Thanks to you, I’ve discovered quite a few of these artists over the past few months so I look forward to hearing how they cover these classics.

    I already know that Bugz mix is going to be killer!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: