Skip to content

Get To Know: Fola

17/06/2009

Fola

Fola is a UK artist who is sure to shine brightly over the coming months.

Her debut single ‘Phenomenal Woman’ (released in March ’09) was inspired by writer/poet Maya Angelou, and is a “tribute to everyday women, irrespective of skin colour, profession, age or religion.”

Her combination of smooth soul and jazz has seen the single become a big hit over at the Urban Jazz Radio, where it remained at No.1 for over 10 weeks!

Currently Fola is working on her debut album and performing dates in and around London (see her myspace). I think she will definitely be one to watch!

____________________

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Marla permalink
    17/06/2009 6:58 pm

    Your song ROCKS Fola… LOVE the smooth, smoochy sound… Many CONGRATULATIONS on its release and I wish you great CUCCESS with it, and in your career Proud to be in a singing class taught by YOU 😀

  2. 18/06/2009 5:22 pm

    WOW! I really love this; I’ll be sure to look into Fola a bit more over the forthcoming months.

    She reminds me of Erykah Badu at her most tender moments. This is beautiful!

  3. Vivrant Thang permalink
    19/06/2009 3:24 pm

    I loved everything about it from beginning to end…from the live instrumentation to the smooth sound of her melodic voice. I can’t wait to see what kind of album she puts out.

  4. 19/06/2009 5:04 pm

    @Viv: Thought this would be your kinda thing 😉

  5. 19/06/2009 11:35 pm

    This is my kinda artist, I made a post about her on my site a while back as well. I think she’s awesome. Hopefully a CD will be out soon, even though I’ve heard more than this one song and the other songs are just as impressive, I still wanna hear more. lol

  6. 22/06/2009 1:32 pm

    Hey SoulUK, correct me if I’m wrong but didn’t this young lady win a ‘Best Unsigned Act’ award at the MOBO’s many moons ago? This is pure class. The instrumentation and arrangement are not unlike some of the work of her namesake Ms Folasade Adu aka Sade. Thanks for another worthy recommendation!

    Shalom x

  7. 22/06/2009 1:36 pm

    Actually there’s a bit of a Quincy Jones/Rod Temperton circa late 70s/early 80s feel to it too!

  8. 22/06/2009 2:40 pm

    I think you may be right … I remember reading something about a MOBO when I was looking for info.

    Maybe one thing the MOBO’s have got right recently!

  9. 22/06/2009 11:21 pm

    I think Fola won the Mobo in the 90s! It was a long time ago, I know that for sure, if she’s the one I’m thinking about. It wasn’t later than 2000/2001. Having said that if it is her she’s taken a very very long time to release a debut album. The late 90s were the heyday for the MOBOs particularly 1998. It was downhill all the way after that, haha!

    Shalom x

  10. 01/07/2009 6:27 pm

    Wow. What a beautiful song. The 1st verse was enough for me to by the song from itunes !

  11. 01/07/2009 6:27 pm

    Wow. What a beautiful song. The 1st verse was enough for me to buy the song from itunes !

Leave a Reply

