Skip to content

What’s New: May Music Madness

16/04/2009

maymadness

 

May is shaping up to be the most exciting month of the year, so far as musical releases are concerned anyway!

  • First up on 5th May we have Chrisette Michele’s ‘Epiphany’. Since the release of ‘I Am’ i’ve been a huge fan of this lady, however listening to the album sampler i was a bit disappointed. Trust my friend Vivrant Thang to restore my faith. I’m not 100% sure if the UK release date is the same, i can’t find the album on Amazon/HMV.
  • Next up is VV Brown (11th May – UK/? – US). I had the pleasure of catching Ms Brown live a few weeks ago and she was fantastic. I wouldn’t label her music as ‘soul’ but then it is almost impossible to put a label on her style, however, there are elements of soul and a strong retro vibe to her work. Her album ‘Travelling Like The Light’ is a definite addition to my collection.
  • Laura Izibor is a name that has been on every soul lovers radar for the last few months. Her highly anticipated debut ‘Let The Truth Be Told is released in the UK on 18th May (16th June in the US). Every one from SoulBounce to SITKOL to Honey Soul have been praising this lady so keep your eye out!
  • Finally we have the album that i personally have been most anticipating this year … yes Yahzarah aka Purple St. James has confirmed that her new album will be released this May! I’d heard rumours that this was the case but it has been confirmed by the lady herself via Twitter. No word on an exact date or a title (‘The Ballad of Purple St. James??), but i’m sure this is gonna be a classic after hearing her first two albums, her work with Foreign Exchange and then her ‘Prelude’ EP. I’m now hearing on Twitter that it probably will NOT be a may release – will check and update asap!

_____________________________________________________________

4 Comments leave one →
  1. vivrant thang permalink
    16/04/2009 8:42 pm

    I’m on holiday for my birthday starting the 20th. I HOPE to have all 4 of these in the ‘pod for my trip. *crosses fingers and toes*

  2. 17/04/2009 8:32 am

    I’ll help where i can 😉

Trackbacks

  1. May Music Madness - UPDATE! « Soul UK
  2. What’s New? « Soul UK

Leave a Reply

