Skip to content

True Soul Star: Ann Peebles

27/02/2009

annpeebles

“99 pounds of natural born goodness, 99 pounds of soul”

A perfect description of the lady in question

 Ann Peebles – ’99lbs’

Ann Peebles is a name i came across a couple of times on the web, mainly in connection with her signature hit ‘I Can’t Stand The Rain’ (which I was only really familiar with via Missy Elliott i’m ashamed to say), however I had never really taken much notice as I have a huge backlog of stuff I need to plough through, and the last thing I needed was another addition to my ever-growing list!

A chance ‘stumble’ across her 1974 album (I Can’t Stand The Rain) soon changed my mind. In addition to her most famous tracks such as the title track and ‘I’m Gonna Tear This Playhouse Down’ there were other soul gems such as ‘Do I Need You’ and ‘Until You Came Into My Life’. One listen had me hooked! Further digging brought up tracks such as ’99lbs’ and ‘I Feel Like Breaking Up Somebody’s Home’.

Ann Peeble – ‘Until You Came Into My Life’

[YouTube video below as .mp3 working intermittently]

One thing I couldn’t understand was why wasn’t this woman mentioned when people discussed classic soul artists? Why wasn’t she mentioned in the same breath as soul legends such as Aretha Franklin, Marvin Gaye, AL Green, Stevie Wonder & Diana Ross?

Ann Peebles – ‘Run Run Run’

Well Ms. Peebles has DEFINITELY been added to my list of classic soul artists, and I’m sure I will be coming back to her music again and again when i need a dose of good old fashioned soul.

For more info check out musician guide.

____________________

2 Comments leave one →
  1. vivrant thang permalink
    28/02/2009 5:12 am

    I admit that Ann is not a soul artist that has ever been on my radar. And that’s probably a shame. That’s why this is another great feature!

    I don’t even know if I knew about the Missy sample. I also see that she’s been sampled by other hip hop artists like RZA of Wu Tang and Talib Kweli.

    If you want more inspiration for this, I HIGHLY suggest you check out EJ Flavors Old School Wednesday podcasts and Rhythms in Black Satin mixes. They are truly the master teachers. Links are on my blogroll.

  2. 02/03/2009 9:15 am

    Hey thanks for the heads up, i’m downloading the latest EJ Flovours mix as we speak!

    Ann is definitely an artists I overlooked but that has changed. I’m awaiting ‘The Complete Ann Peebles’ to drop on my mat any day now (ALL her Hi Records Albums on 2 discs … i’m SO excited lol).

Leave a Reply

